Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

28 Things – 9 Month Update

Leave a comment

It’s been a while since I’ve done an update on the 28 goals I established for myself when I turned 28, and I have some good news!

11. Officially apply to the Harvard Extension School’s Master of Liberal Arts program.

Not only did I apply, but I recently found out that I’ve been accepted! I’m officially a graduate student… again. Since I’m doing this part-time, it will take me a few years to get through all the credits, but at one class per semester, I probably won’t get too burned out over it. I’m currently taking a course on Manet and Modernism, and having a lot of fun with my adorable teacher who talks at a lightening speed and says things in French that I don’t understand. She’s not as good as AP Art History with Dr. Coad, the fabulous Canadian who would discuss five pieces of art at once and drop books next to your head if you fell asleep in class, but pretty close.

14. Run a sub-25 minute 5K (my PR is 26:17).

Working on this! As part of my Boston Marathon training, I’ve been incorporating some speed work. I ran a 5-miler on Super Bowl Sunday and did fantastic – ran it in 45 minutes – and felt really good at a 9 minute mile pace for those 5 miles. This is the first time I’ve felt so good running at that pace since I sprained my ankle in mid-October. After my injury, I thought my sub-25 minute 5K might have to drop off the list, but after maintaining a 8:40-9:00 minute pace during the 5 miler and running a mile in under 8 minutes after a hill workout last week, I’m feeling pretty confident that I might actually be able to do a sub-25 minute 5K!

25. 28 days of running at least a mile every day

During the month of January, I participated in the Winter Warrior Challenge held by Marathon Sports. The challenge was to run (or walk!) a mile outside every day during the month of January. Lucky for me, I have to walk about a mile every day just to get to work (0.7 to Davis Square and another 0.2 to my office from the Harvard Station), so walking at least a mile outdoors wasn’t really a problem. I only actually missed one day – when I stayed home from work sick with a viral sore throat. Pretty legit excuse, right? The Winter Warrior Challenge was definitely not as challenging as running at least a mile every day, but it was fun to track each mile and definitely inspired me to leave the house when I didn’t want to. Overall, I ranked 453 out of 1,557 people and completed 96.5 miles.

27. Plan the next big trip

We’re going to COSTA RICA! We found $400 roundtrip flights on JetBlue that we just couldn’t say no to and are headed to Costa Rica in September. I am so excited! Do you have any tips of where we should stay or what we should see?

28. Dominate the Boston Marathon

With about 10 weeks until the Boston Marathon, I’m getting ready to start running longer distances than I ever have before. On Saturday morning I’ll be running 15 miles. I’ve run 15 miles in a day over two runs (one in the morning and one in the evening as part of Ragnar training) but never in one single run. I’m a little bit scared, but also excited. Completing this 15 mile run will finally make it feel like I’m training for a marathon. In addition to running, biking, and the occasional yoga, I’ve also started training with a personal trainer. It’s only half an hour each week, but I think it’s helping to make me stronger. Or, at the very least, it’s teaching me how to incorporate strength training to my regular workouts.

Granny

A fantastic picture from when Granny came to Boston for my college graduation in 2008. ❤ Best friends forever ❤

For me, dominating the Boston Marathon is more than running the 26.2 miles confidently and happily. It’s also about ‘dominating’ in terms of fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Running the Boston Marathon is all about Granny and honoring her memory in the biggest way I can. I’ve officially raised more than $6,000 – 80% to my personal goal of $7,500. But, to be honest, I really want to hit $10,000. I know that raising another $4,000 is a LOT of money, but I think I can do it. I think *we* can do it. I have an incredible network of friends and family, and together, I think we can achieve this.

To help support LLS and the fight against blood cancers, please visit my personal fundraising page. Other ways to give include registering for the Dobie Dash 5K for LLS, a virtual race where all proceeds go to my fundraising efforts, or purchasing candles from Yankee Candles, where 40% of purchases go to my fundraising efforts (make sure to type in Group # 990071104). Last but not least, if you’re in the Boston area, join me for pizza and a raffle at Flatbread Pizza in Somerville on Tuesday, March 31st.

Leave a Reply

