Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

December 18th and a Dobie Dash

Leave a comment

December 18th –  Boston Marathon Update

This is my third update, which means I’ve already been at this for 3 months. Time flies! And I still have 4 months to go (yup, 4 months and 2 days until the Boston Marathon!). Things are going great!

Kickoff was this past weekend and the official start to marathon training and fundraising. Unfortunately, I had to miss Kickoff because I was celebrating my pregnant bffaeaetddup at her baby shower. Pretty good excuse, I think 🙂 However, the Saturday prior we had a mini launch with our first official get-together to talk about fundraising and proper running gear. I had the pleasure of meeting a few of my teammates, my coaches, and go to Marathon Sports as a group. Marathon Sports is a close friend of Team in Training and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, so they give everyone on the team a nice discount on gear and shoes. I had one of the knowledgeable staff members check out my current favorite shoes, my Brooks Ghosts, and she confirmed that they’re the right kind of shoe for me – win!

Training itself is going well, too! Even though I was away in California, I made sure to go for a run every day I was there (although I missed yesterday because of my red-eye flight and after-work holiday party… and missed today from the sleeping in). I checked out the Tufts outdoor track for the first time last week during a disgusting rainy/snowy/sleety morning with the goal of 1. finding the track and 2. running at a slow pace around the track. Luckily, I was able to succeed in those goals. I am excited to go back for my first real track workout next week. I’ve also started cross-training, by riding my indoor bike a few days a week. I still need to look into joining Harvard’s gym to get access to their weight room for strength-training… and one of these weeks I will make my triumphant return to yoga!

As for my fundraising, I’m continuously astounded by the generosity of my friends and family. To date, I have raised $4,499.20. This doesn’t count the additional $258.80 that I’m expecting from Yankee Candles or the close to $100 that was raised at the CPK dinner last week. If you do the math, I’m less than $200 away from my $5,000 minimum!

The Dobie Dash 5K for LLS

Dobie Dash Medal Proof

This could be yours! You know you want it!

While I have to raise at least $5,000 to run for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, my personal goal is $7,500. With this in mind, I’ve decided to put on a virtual Dobie Dash 5K Run/Walk to support LLS! If 100 people sign up, I’ll order  awesome custom-designed medals as a thank you to everyone who participates. Best part? ALL PROCEEDS WILL GO TOWARDS LLS! If fewer than 100 people sign up, participants will still receive an awesome thank you in the mail (it will just be a little less exciting than a CUSTOM FINISHER’S MEDAL!)

How does it work? It’s EASY. Register here and then run/walk 3.1 miles between now and March 20th. You can do it outside, inside, on a track, on a treadmill, on the open road (safely), with a friend, with a group, or all alone – it’s up to you! And, for registering, you’ll get a custom finisher’s medal like the one pictured, a REAL race bib (if you’re one of the first 50 to register), and a chance to win a $15 gift card to Road ID (there will be multiple chances to win!).

Tell your family, tell your friends, LET’S DO THIS!

Leave a Reply

