Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

November 18th

Leave a comment

This is the second in my series of monthly updates on my Boston Marathon training and fundraising. I started writing this on 11/18, but due to distractions I’m only finishing it up today. Oh well. Read here why I choose to write on the 18th of the month!

It’s hard to believe that Thanksgiving is next week. Thanksgiving was my Granny’s FAVORITE holiday. For most of my life, we would head to Granny and Poppies’ house where there was always a ridiculous amount of delicious food, a turkey that never cooked just to Granny’s liking (even though we all thought it was perfect), and post-Thanksgiving dinner walks around the neighborhood. Thanksgiving was *her* holiday.

 

We would all sit in the formal dining room – something saved for special occasions – and would serve ourselves buffet-style from the numerous dishes around the kitchen table and counters. I always sat to my Granny’s left, and usually her faithful doberman sat between us or under the table. It was through these special family meals that I learned to love cooking for family and friends and hosting big meals. If we weren’t so busy, I would’ve planned one of those Friendsgivings for our friends.

These days I spend Thanksgiving with Eric’s family and I think Granny would approve of the tasty food, fantastic family time, and the Boston Terrier begging for scraps. Last year I participated in the MS Society’s Thanksgiving 5K Thanksgiving morning and even though it was SO cold, it remains my best 5k time. This year, since I’m still recuperating from my ankle sprain, I’ll be going for a *much* slower run.

1455177_965560990969_2098833476_n

Thanksgiving 2013. SO COLD.

Speaking of runs, this morning I went for my first run in over a month! I did a nice and slow 1 mile around the neighborhood and my ankle feels pretty good! Tomorrow I’m going to ride my Sunny bike and I’ll try going for another short run on Saturday. Boston Marathon training starts December 1 and while I’m nervous about how my ankle will hold up, I’m feeling a little more confident that while I won’t be in half-marathon shape, I’ll at least be able to keep up with the slow and steady training plan.

But back to the theme of the post – this year, I am so incredibly thankful for the love and support of my family, friends, and colleagues who are helping me reach my fundraising goal of $7,500 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I’m officially more than half way there with $4,247 raised – and still have 5 months to go. While personal solicitations have been my primary method for raising funds, I’ve also held a Halloween-themed Bar Crawl that raised $200, I’m selling Yankee Candles online (group number 990071104) and have raised $300+ and on Wednesday, December 10th I’m hosting a fundraising event at the Prudential Center’s California Pizza Kitchen. I’m thrilled with the progress I’ve made so far, and excited for what I’ll be announcing next month!

What are you most excited for this Thanksgiving? Any suggestions for what I should bake for dessert? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

