Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

Taper Time

2 Comments

After two very long months, my first half marathon of the summer is this upcoming weekend. My last “half” was the One Run for Boston on April 13th, which wasn’t really officially a half and instead more like two 6.5 mile legs of the relay that I counted in my monthly half-marathon list. I mean, really… 13 miles is close enough to 13.1…

BUT that means that I had enough time between that run and this upcoming half to get out of half shape. I’ve been on a somewhat official training schedule since then, slowly working my way up from 8 mile long runs to 12 miles two Saturdays ago. (And, I must admit that it was a stellar 12 mile run… a 9:36 pace or something close to that, making it my fastest pace for a run that long).

Reaction GIF: fuck yeah, dance, Brad Pitt, Burn After Reading

This is basically the same happy dance I did after my last long run.

 This past weekend, I ran an easy 6 miles on Saturday to prepare myself for the taper week. On Sunday, we had plans to help my younger sister move out of Brighton into her new apartment in Somerville (less than half a mile away!). Eric really wanted to get a bike ride in, so – being the intelligent couple that we are – we decided to go on a 15 mile bike ride to Lexington and back before moving my sister. Did I mention she was moving out of a 2nd floor apartment and into a 3rd floor apartment. Saying my legs and knees are exhausted is an understatement. And did I mention that Eric and I did our own move a month ago? A friend reminded me of this incredible scene from Friends that is an accurate depiction of how I spent April 30th and June 1st:

I took Monday off (oh nooooo ruined the Runner’s World #runstreak that I had going… oh well!) and then went on a short 2 mile run this morning. My legs are still veryyyyy tired, so I’m going to be taking it extra easy the next few days. Luckily, I have all the fun plans this week to keep me distracted including a drink with my old roommate last night, belated birthday dinner with my fave Poonwalla this evening, and my “big sis” is going to be in town tomorrow and Thursday. Busybusybusy but I love it!

I’m not sure how this is all going to go on Sunday considering the race is the Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon and therefore the course is up and down the hills of Newton and Heartbreak Hill. Because I did so well in my most recent long run, and because this course is unlike any other I’ve run before, I’m going to balance the two conflicting factors and make a goal to finish in 2:10 – 2:15. While I do plan on beating my half marathon pr at some point this year, the Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon is not the race to do it. I just want to enjoy it and experience it and use it as solid prep work for my (hopefully, please and thank you) Boston Marathon debut next spring.

HeartbreakHill

Because who doesn’t think this is the best way to spend a Sunday morning?

I hope everyone has a fabulous week and I can’t wait to tell you all how it goes!!

2 thoughts on “Taper Time

  1. Good luck, Becky!

Leave a Reply

