Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

One week

1 Comment

At this time next week, my team will have already begun running the 200+ mile trek from Wickenburg, AZ to Tempe, AZ through the Ragnar Relay Del SOl. Although I won’t begin running until next Friday afternoon, I will already have the pre-race jitters and butterflies as I try to get in a couple more minutes of sleep in the van and stretch my leg and mind in preparation for my first leg of 13.5 miles.

Although it doesn’t feel like it, I’ve been training for months for this. And it no longer matters how well or how hard I trained. My training is as complete as it is going to get. There were the days that I ran through the freezing cold, up to three times in one day, to prepare my body for the three legs totaling more than 20 miles that I will run between Friday morning and Saturday evening. My weekly mileage hit a high point of 30 miles. My mileage in one day hit 18, broken up into a 15 mile run followed by a 3 mile run a few hours later. Although these aren’t big feats for my marathon-running friends, training for Ragnar has definitely helped me realize that I can and will be capable of running a marathon in 2015.

Maybe I didn’t run enough. Maybe I didn’t do enough hill-training. Maybe I didn’t do enough speedwork. It no longer matters.

Tomorrow I will run 7 miles, after having run 13+ miles every weekend for the last 6 weeks. Then I will be resting. And a week from today I will accomplish my greatest running feat yet. I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

One thought on “One week

  1. What you’re doing, Becky, is perfectly crazy and meshugnaha, but so healthy and so wonderful for your body and spirit! You go, my Mothers Day daughter! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

