Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

Training Begins TOMORROW

Leave a comment

It has officially been more than a week since I’ve gone for a run.

After last Saturday’s failure, I made sure that my back had all the time it needed to recover. However, during my week off I signed up for the Ragnar Relay Del Sol in Arizona and took a peak at their suggested training plan and holy moly am I behind! Last week, I created a personalized training schedule for myself. Although this is not my first time training for a race, this will be the first time I attempt to incorporate one day of yoga each week. I’ve practiced yoga casually in the last 5+ years, committing to weekly yoga classes for 6 or so months at a time, and then abandoning the practice when life got busy. I’ve noticed that in the last year or so since my last batch of yoga classes, I’ve lost all of my flexibility (for serious, I can run a half marathon and NOT tough my toes? What the heck?). And after my back injury, the need to build core and back strength is even more apparent. So, to yoga I will go!

On Saturday, I went to a Vinyasa class at Jai Yoga. I did not expect the class to be so advanced. I did not expect there to only be 5 other students. And I did not expect the teacher to walk around the class softly speaking the different poses we should move through rather than stand at the front of the room demonstrating the poses to us. Then again, I’m pretty proud to say that I could keep up the majority of the time (and I think the teacher even complimented me on one of my poses – WIN!). There were several poses I could not do (aka could not even fathom how I would attempt them), but the teacher seemed ok suggesting easier poses for me to try (and seemed ok with me just laying there, which I did on more than one occasion). After the class, I commented to the teacher that the class was a bit above me but that it felt awesome to at least try – and would you believe that he responded that I should just keep coming back and after a few classes I’d be up to par? Really? If you say so? I don’t think I’ll be able to catch up that fast, but I did like the class… so I’m going to try and go back on Tuesday night. 

I can’t wait to start my training tomorrow morning. I stocked up on my new and favorite recovery foods (helloooo chocolate milk, you delicious drink). My legs are itching to get out there and run again after this long, extended break. Wish me luck!

Image

Leave a Reply

