Becky Runs Boston

My adventures running in Boston, searching for that runner's chai.

New Plans

Leave a comment

My first marathon will not be the April 2014 Boston Marathon. I was unable to procure a bib for the highly coveted race. Although I’m pretty sad about it, I know I’ll just try again for the 2015 Boston Marathon. With another year of training under my belt, I’ll be an even stronger runner by then. And, it will be the 5th and 10th anniversaries of my grandmother and grandfather’s deaths, so the fundraising, training, and running will be all that more meaningful.

Within 24 hours of learning that I wouldn’t be getting a bib, I already had a new training plan in place for the new year. Instead of the Boston Marathon, I will be running the Ragnar Del Sol in Arizona in February. I have never run a relay race. I’m currently friends with only one of the girls on the 12-person team. I have never been to Arizona. And I have never run more than 13.1 miles. But, for the next 3 months, I will be in serious training mode – many weeks with 30+ or 40+ miles, and eventually getting to 50+ in the final weeks. I will also be practicing with multiple runs in a single day, to simulate running 3 legs over 24-hours. I will literally be running morning, noon, and night in preparation. And I couldn’t be more excited about it.

I can’t wait to blog about how training goes (once training starts next week when my back will hopefully be back to it’s usual/strong/healthy self!) and about my preparations for the two races before Ragnar. Here’s my current race schedule:

November 28, 2013 : MS Society Boston Volvo Village 5k Road Race

January 14, 2014 : Citrus Heritage Half-Marathon

February 21-22, 2014 : Ragnar Relay Del Sol

October 5, 2014 : Smuttynose Rockfest Marathon

I’m sure there will be more than just those four. I mean, the year hasn’t even started yet! I’m excited to see what happens!

Leave a Reply

