Runners Chai

Running for life

Happy Passover!

2 Comments

To all my fellow Jews out there, Happy Passover and Chag Sameach! With the first night of Passover on a Monday this year, my sister and I decided to wait until tonight to do our Passover Seder. This will be the first time we’ve done an official Seder (with Haggadah!) in a few years. I found a Humanist Haggadah on the internet and then tweaked it to incorporate some readings that my mom has emailed the last few weeks. Sister’s beau has never done Passover before, and Eric’s never been through a full Seder, so it should be a fun night for all!

Since Passover has a lot to do with food and what you can/cannot eat for a week, I thought I’d share some of what I’m eating this week. This may have been more helpful at the beginning of the week, but things have been busy so just save this for next year!

BREAKFAST

Eric and I continue to drink delicious green smoothies for breakfast. Almond milk, kale, pineapple, banana, frozen peaches and/or mango, chia seeds… and pure deliciousness. I also drink tea with honey (no splenda!) and sometimes I’ll have a cup of coffee (but no longer every day… what!?!? who am I?)

LUNCH

I’ve found that eating a big lunch puts me to sleep in the afternoon so I’ve been trying to eat lunch part 1 at 11:30 and lunch part 2 at 2-ish. This week, lunch part 1 has been a piece of matzah with avocado (and salt). No joke, this is delicious. And it takes time to eat since matzah breaks so easily so I actually get to sit and enjoy it for a good amount of time. Lunch part 2 is 2% Greek yogurt with berries or haroset. I loved having Greek yogurt with haroset, but the haroset (at 3 points for 1/3 cup) was just a little too much, so I’m back to eating berries. I throw the frozen berries in with the yogurt before work, and by the time I eat them in the early afternoon they’ve defrosted.

politics animated GIF

That piece of matza must either have salt, avocado, or both on it.

DINNER

To be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed with a WW recipe and this Beef and Spinach Matzoh Pie was no exception. At 7 points, it’s the perfect size meal for me. I substituted ground chicken for the ground beef, and it was really tasty. Even Eric has loved eating it for dinner (and opted to have it by himself last night when I went out to dinner with a friend).

And yes – I went out for dinner last night and still managed to stay (mostly) Passover friendly. I generally identify with my Sephardic roots, which allow me to eat rice, corn, and legumes. Thank goodness Fajitas & ‘Ritas offers corn tortillas in place of flour tortillas! I had some delicious chicken fajitas with corn tortillas… and a little chips and salsa. And some sangria. But overall, my meal was mostly K for P!

TONIGHT’S SEDER MENU

Sister LOVES matzoh brie, so that will be our main dish this evening along with a roast chicken she’s making. In addition to those and your basics (more haroset, hard-boiled eggs, horseradish, and a still TBD veggie side) I found two recipes that I’m really excited to try.

WhatJewWannaEat posted this amazing-looking recipe for Deep Fried Matzo Balls with Wasabi Cream Sauce. Eric loves wasabi and I love fried food, so everyone is happy! I didn’t want to go to the effort of making a full on matza ball soup, so this seemed like a good alternative (I mean, they’re basically the same, right?)

Nancy Fox at Skinny Kitchen posted a recipe for Skinny, Delectable Passover Magic Bars that are 4 points each and contain all the deliciousness of chocolate, coconut, walnuts, and cranberries. I’ll have to do my best to not eat all of them at once :)

What’s on your Passover menu this year? There are still a few hours for me to change my mind on what to serve tonight, so tell me what you loved. AND I still need help with deciding on a veggie side dish!

2 thoughts on “Happy Passover!

  1. Thank you so much Becky for including my Skinny, Delectable Passover Magic Bars.
    Happy Passover!
    With my very best wishes,
    Nancy

    • Absolutely! I’m really excited to make them and eat them! I found your recipe on the recent Huffington Post article and I will definitely look out for future recipes from your site! :) Thank you! (and happy Passover!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers